View Latest Reviews
Product Testing Product Reviews Home Pregnancy, Maternity and Birth back to Pregnancy, Maternity and Birth

Pregnancy, Maternity and Birth Product Reviews

The Hydrant

Add Your Own Review Here

Overall score: 5 out of 5
The Hydrant 
5 out of 5 based on 12 user review(s).

From Hydrate for Health

www.hydrateforhealth.co.uk


Share your review...
The Hydrant

Member reviews:


  Ease of Use: 5 out of 5
  Value for Money: 3 out of 5
  Quality: 5 out of 5
  Overall score: 4 out of 5
 
"Fantasic product!"

When this product arrived at my door i thought it was a bit bulky and thought i'd look silly taking it in hospital but i took it anyway.
My son was born by caesarean and this product was fantasic!
The day after the caesarean i was uable to sit up so would've had to drink laying on my back. My husband set the hydrant up and it worked a treat! without this product i would've been spilling my drink all over myself.
The price of this product is a little steep but i would definatly recommed it!

(4 out of 5)
Reviewed by Nicole - Mum of two - posted on 19th April 2010.
Read More Reviews by Nicole


  Ease of Use: 5 out of 5
  Value for Money: 5 out of 5
  Quality: 5 out of 5
  Overall score: 5 out of 5
 
"Great for helping breast feeding"

I bought this as I was having a planned c-section following a difficult birth first time. I had no milk during the first delivery for a week and wanted to ensure I could breast feed my second son. This enabled me to get my fluids up very quickly to ensure a good flow of milk. It meant I didn't have to ask every five mins for someone to pass me a glass of water, and kept my hands free to cuddle my baby. Would definitely recommend. All the midwives on the ward were interested in it and thought it a good idea!

(5 out of 5)
Reviewed by Claire - Mother to two boys - posted on 20th March 2010.
Read More Reviews by Claire


  Ease of Use: 5 out of 5
  Value for Money: 5 out of 5
  Quality: 5 out of 5
  Overall score: 5 out of 5
 
"WOW!!"

WOW!! what a great product the hydrant is. i have found it invaluable as i am terrible for not drinking enough & with this it's right there easy to use & i can tell how much i've drunk. fantastic for in the hospital after the birth of my daughter 3 weeks ago & great while i'm breastfeeding. everyone who's been to visit has asked about it & thought it was a fab idea. i too can see the hydrant being used in many different circumstances. in fact my teenage son had already tried it out before me whilst at motorcross & loved it as it meant he didn't have to take his helmet etc. off to have a drink!!(very handy for a lazy teenager lol) also meant that i could make sure he had drunk enough as with any sport it is very easy to dehydrate .
all in all a simple to use fantastic product that, having now used myself, also represents great value for money. so thankyou to the company for allowing me to test this product & also the baby website team for putting me forward xx

(5 out of 5)
Reviewed by Danyella - mother of 2 - posted on 19th January 2010.
Read More Reviews by Danyella


  Ease of Use: 4 out of 5
  Value for Money: 4 out of 5
  Quality: 4 out of 5
  Overall score: 4 out of 5
 
"love the hydrant."

I found the Hydrant very helpful and I am still using it. I gave birth four weeks ago and it was great having a drink handy at all times.
I had to stay in hospital for five days after the delivery and it was a god sent gift, especially at night time. I still have it attached to my bed, so I don't have to get up and get a drink from the kitchen when I breast feed.
I'd definitely recommend it.



(4 out of 5)
Reviewed by jessica - first time mum - posted on 14th January 2010.
Read More Reviews by jessica


  Ease of Use: 5 out of 5
  Value for Money: 5 out of 5
  Quality: 5 out of 5
  Overall score: 5 out of 5
 
"Definitely a must have!"

The Hydrant has been ideal - I didn't use it in hospital as the labour/birth was so quick, but have kept it behind me on the settee at home as my new baby boy is constantly feeding. As well as this, my toddler now has a penchant for knocking over glasses for attention, so that eliminates that problem too!

Its easy to use, and easy to clean too, so I can make sure I always have plenty of water by my side - as I'm constantly thirsty with breast feeding. I've had a lot of pain with my pelvis during pregnancy and its a bit worse now after labour/birth so I've had difficulty moving around - I don't have to reach for a glass or get up for one (out of my toddlers reach!) with the Hydrant here.

My husband could have done with one after his recent gallbladder op as he was laid down for the first few days and had to keep getting up (painfully) to have a sip of water etc.


(5 out of 5)
Reviewed by Erin - Mother of 2 gorgeous boys - posted on 30th December 2009.
Read More Reviews by Erin


  Ease of Use: 5 out of 5
  Value for Money: 5 out of 5
  Quality: 5 out of 5
  Overall score: 5 out of 5
 
"fantastic idea"

Even though I haven't had my c-section yet I have managed to try the hydrant out and what a brilliant idea. There are so many possible uses for this product you are not just confided to hospital etc. One idea I could see it being used for is having drinks on long car journeys either as the passenger or driver as you have your hands free while drinking, with help of the clever water tube.
I can see how the hydrant is so practical for hospital, not only can you have a drink without stretching and nearly falling out of bed, but also it can be used to monitor your fluid intake as it has clear measurements on the side of the bottle.
I would say this a must have product for any mum to be as it allows you to concentrate on the baby while you get a drink and therefore not becoming dyhydrated. Also I would say you could connect it to the pram and again be able to get a drink whilst out for walks with the baby.
I think for around £15.00 for the whole kit, including a litre water bottle,drinking tube its well worth the money. Definately worth the investment it is a product that easily be used for years to come. I would definately recommend this

(5 out of 5)
Reviewed by wendy - mum to 3 chidren. Expecting number 4 in february - posted on 28th December 2009.
Read More Reviews by wendy


  Ease of Use: 5 out of 5
  Value for Money: 4 out of 5
  Quality: 5 out of 5
  Overall score: 5 out of 5
 
"every hospital should have them"

I have just had a planned Caesarean Section and I found this product very useful in deed. I was given a private room and I set it up straight the way before I went down to theatre. I found that as I was in a room the Midwives didn't often come into me and if I didn't have this product I would have been forever buzzing them to get me a jug of water. It is so hot in hospitals and thirsty work breast feeding. I couldn't get out of bed for 24 hrs and even after all my drips and Catheter were removed I still would have struggled to pour myself a glass of water so this product really was invaluable. I am currently still using it at home and have it set up on my bed so I can use it during the night feeds. This really is a great product and I feel every hospital should have them to offer patients that may need

(5 out of 5)
Reviewed by sarah - mum of 2 boys - posted on 27th December 2009.
Read More Reviews by sarah


  Ease of Use: 5 out of 5
  Value for Money: 5 out of 5
  Quality: 5 out of 5
  Overall score: 5 out of 5
 
"Fantastic item"

I received the Hydrant yesterday and put it to use straight away, I am very impressed, and it does everything the website promises after reading up on it. i have been suffering bad with spd so have been bed bound, so this was a godsend as i didnt have to keep getting up for a drink. im due to have a c-section with my 2nd baby and will deffinatley be putting this in my hospital bag and use it afterwards aswell. i will be reccommending this product to all my freinds and family. ive also got alot of freinds that are pregnant so i will be reccommending them this product.

(5 out of 5)
Reviewed by linsay - mummy to hollie & 1 on the way - posted on 9th November 2009.
Read More Reviews by linsay


  Ease of Use: 5 out of 5
  Value for Money: 5 out of 5
  Quality: 5 out of 5
  Overall score: 5 out of 5
 
"Excellent for hands free drinking!"

I had a c section but due to problems with the post The Hydrant arrived after I got back home. I can see how amazing it would have been in the hospital, as it can clip to the side of your bed and has a tube for hands free drinking. It is also excellent for feeding times as it holds 1 litre of water and the drinking tube can be clipped to your clothing for quick and easy drinking access!
When I got home from hospital I was very ill as I had caught a virus and was on bed rest for seven days. I had The Hydrant next to me and it was a godsend as I was too weak to move but was able to keep my fluids up. An excellent product that makes life easier.

(5 out of 5)
Reviewed by Linda - Mum of two beautiful girls. - posted on 4th November 2009.
Read More Reviews by Linda


  Ease of Use: 5 out of 5
  Value for Money: 5 out of 5
  Quality: 5 out of 5
  Overall score: 5 out of 5
 
"Hospital and breast feeding essential."

The Hydrant was the most useful thing in my hospital bag. I was in hospital for a week and if I had been dependant on the hospital water jugs I would certainly have become dehydrated. Being able to attach the Hydrant to the bed was really helpful as we were moved rooms so often and the bed was moved with me. Having had a caesarian the Hydrant was a godsend with helping my recovery. All the midwives and doctors were very impressed by the Hydrant as a way to monitor patients fluid intake. Back at home the Hydrant has really helped me to breast feed, its all too easy to become dehydrated even if you remember to get a glass of water before each feed its often out of reach! I highly recommend it for all expectant mothers.

(5 out of 5)
Reviewed by Claire - Mum of 1 - posted on 30th October 2009.
Read More Reviews by Claire


  Ease of Use: 5 out of 5
  Value for Money: 5 out of 5
  Quality: 5 out of 5
  Overall score: 5 out of 5
 
"A godsend as I got to grips with breastfeeding in hospital"

This product is fantastic! One thing that they don't always tell you about breastfeeding is how thirsty you get. When you think that you are providing all your little one's drinking water it is no surprise! In hospital I was given one small jug of water and a plastic cup when I arrived and it always seemed to be out of reach when I was feeding. I was in hospital for 4 days after the birth and the hydrant was a godsend as I was drinking a lot of water each time I fed Joseph and it was always available, clipped to the side of the bed. The nurses and midwives all thought it was fantastic too, especially for mums who have had a caesarian. I can't recommend this product enough, you can also use it when you get home too clipped to your nursing chair. Breastfeeding can be hard to get to grips with in the early stages and any product which helps to make your life more comfortable is definitely worth it. One to add to the hospital bag!

(5 out of 5)
Reviewed by Elizabeth - mother of Joseph, 4 months - posted on 19th October 2009.
Read More Reviews by Elizabeth


  Ease of Use: 5 out of 5
  Value for Money: 5 out of 5
  Quality: 5 out of 5
  Overall score: 5 out of 5
 
"Hands-free for feeding!"

I took The Hydrant into hospital to use during labour and afterwards - it was a godsend! Just to have both of my own hands free to squeeze my husband's hand to pieces was worth it! Whilst breastfeeding I was able to quench my thirst without stopping to faff around with mugs and cups. It's really helpful when I'm on my own at home too - just fill it up before you start and then you can settle down with no worries - very useful as Eva sometimes takes up to an hour to finish! I would recommend The Hydrant to everyone who gets that "feeding thirst" where you suddenly find yourself thinking, 'I wish I'd made a drink before I started!'

(5 out of 5)
Reviewed by Angie - Eva's Mum - posted on 17th October 2009.
Read More Reviews by Angie


Add Your Own Review |  Suggest a Product |  Product Testing Homepage |  back to Pregnancy, Maternity and Birth