Latest Reviews
Product Testing Product Reviews Home

Helen's Product Reviews

The Book With No Pictures by BJ Novak

  Ease of Use: 5 out of 5
  Value for Money: 4 out of 5
  Quality: 4 out of 5
  Overall score: 4 out of 5
 
"Funny the first couple of times."

My 2 year old has no interest in a book without pictures but my four year old will happily chuckle along to the silly words and noises, however after reading it a few times she has lost interest in it. It might be one we return to in a few months when she has forgotten about it.
I'm also not keen on the American English.

(4 out of 5)  Mum of two girls - posted on 5th January 2017.

Read All Reviews of The Book With No Pictures by BJ Novak

Watch this YouTube video of BJ Novak reading his book aloud


The Tickle Fingers Toddler Cookbook

  Ease of Use: 5 out of 5
  Value for Money: 5 out of 5
  Quality: 5 out of 5
  Overall score: 5 out of 5
 
"Great ideas for toddler food"

My four year old and I have really enjoyed making some of the recipes from this book. The recipes are well thought out and simple enough to make sure little ones can have a hands on experience and really feel like they are the chefs.

There is a good variety of recipes from meals to snack and treats so there's always something we can rustle up together.

I particularly liked the intro and background story to the book and I needed the little reminder not to step in and take over. Embrace the mess, it's worth it!

(5 out of 5)   - posted on 29th October 2016.

Read All Reviews of The Tickle Fingers Toddler Cookbook

Buy Now From Amazon


GOULA Calendar Clock - Jumbo Games

  Ease of Use: 4 out of 5
  Value for Money: 3 out of 5
  Quality: 4 out of 5
  Overall score: 4 out of 5
 
"A good starting point for learning to tell the time"

We were excited to be reviewing the calender clock as my almost 4 year old is very interested in learning to tell the time. When it arrived it was bigger than I expected which is a good point as it is really sturdy and can cope with my one year old playing with it too. It has fixings on the back so it can be mounted on the wall so it would make a great feature in the kids room.
My daughter enjoys sliding the slider over the days of the week and selecting the right weather symbol. We have been teaching her the basics of telling the time with the clock face and she is starting to pick it up. It's very easy to use but one of the sliders is a bit stiff and the board itself is slightly warped so it doesn't sit flush to the wall.

(4 out of 5)   - posted on 25th April 2016.

Read All Reviews of GOULA Calendar Clock - Jumbo Games

Buy from Amazon


Real Easy

  Ease of Use: 5 out of 5
  Value for Money: 5 out of 5
  Quality: 5 out of 5
  Overall score: 5 out of 5
 
"Surprisingly good!"

As a cloth nappy user on two children I've had a bit of experience using various types of nappy so when these nappies arrived I expected them to be ok but nothing special.
I've used a similar type to the real easy and found it difficult to get a good fit and had leaks after one wee but I was pleasantly surprised to find that these lasted in excess of 3 hours even after just one wash! (i was quite keen to test them out so only did one pre wash instead of the recommended two washes).
The poppers around the legs make getting a good fit easier and there are plenty of poppers around the front to get a good fit around the top.
The designs are really lovely, I particularly like the festival one!
The hemp blend makes them super absorbent, I'm tempted to leave one on to see how long it takes to out wee it as so far no leaks!
Only downside is that they are a little bit bulkier than other nappies but overall I'm really pleased!

(5 out of 5)  mum to two girls - posted on 21st August 2015.

Read All Reviews of Real Easy

Wonderoos.co.uk


Bravado Designs Body Silk Seamless Nursing Bra

  Ease of Use: 5 out of 5
  Value for Money: 4 out of 5
  Quality: 5 out of 5
  Overall score: 5 out of 5
 
"Most comfortable bra ever"

Oh I love this bra! It's so soft and comfortable. There are no seams or stitching to irritate your skin, it's soft and stretchy and moulds to your shape. It's also really easy to unclip the cups to feed. It washes well and I put mine back on as soon as it's dried! Love it.

(5 out of 5)  mum to two girls - posted on 17th July 2015.

Read All Reviews of Bravado Designs Body Silk Seamless Nursing Bra

www.BravadoDesigns.com


BabaSling

  Ease of Use: 1 out of 5
  Value for Money: 4 out of 5
  Quality: 4 out of 5
  Overall score: 3 out of 5
 
"Not for us."

I tried the baba sling when lo was a new born and I just couldn't get on with it. I watched YouTube videos and read the instructions but found that as it isn't very adjustable, I just couldn't get it to feel secure.I think it is better suited to older babies and hip carrying.

(3 out of 5)  mum to two girls - posted on 17th July 2015.

Read All Reviews of BabaSling

Buy from Amazon Baby

Look at The BabaSling

Suitable from Birth


Dribblebuster

  Ease of Use: 5 out of 5
  Value for Money: 5 out of 5
  Quality: 5 out of 5
  Overall score: 5 out of 5
 
"lovely, stylish bib"

I'm really pleased to have tried this dribblebuster bib as my baby has started teething and is pretty dribbly.

The bib arrived beautifully packaged in tissue paper and instantly I could see the high quality of this product when I opened it.

The fabric used to make the bib is beautiful and the back of the bib is so soft.

It does a great job of soaking up dribble and left no chafing marks or wet patches on my little one. It also looks really cute.

It washes well and keeps its shape even after I put it in the dryer.

Top marks for a fab bib.

(5 out of 5)  mum to two girls - posted on 24th May 2015.

Read All Reviews of Dribblebuster

Dribblebuster Logo

www.dribblebuster.co.uk


Sudocrem Care & Protect

  Ease of Use: 5 out of 5
  Value for Money: 4 out of 5
  Quality: 5 out of 5
  Overall score: 5 out of 5
 
"great barrier cream, better than a tub"

I really like this product, it is not as thick and creamy like regular sudocrem and easier to apply with it being in a tube rather than a tub which I usually end up with it all over my hands.

I'm lucky that my little girl rarely suffers from nappy rash, but this cream cleared a little bit of redness she had.

Overall good value and I would probably buy this in the future .

(5 out of 5)  mum to two girls - posted on 4th April 2015.

Read All Reviews of Sudocrem Care & Protect

Sudocrem.co.uk

​Stockist: Boots, Tesco, Sainsbury's, Superdrug, Savers, Asda, Morrisons and Independent Pharmacies


Quinny Buzz

  Ease of Use: 4 out of 5
  Value for Money: 4 out of 5
  Quality: 3 out of 5
  Overall score: 4 out of 5
 
"Good until you get a puncture."

I really enjoyed using my Quinny Buzz, the rebel red colour was really vibrant and the design quite quirky and fun. It is very smooth to push around and my daughter was very comfortable in it.

The down sides are that it is pretty bulky and wide and is a faff to take apart to get in to a small boot. It is also a nightmare if you get a puncture whilst out and about. I prefer wheels without inflated tyres.

(4 out of 5)  mum to two girls - posted on 18th March 2015.

Read All Reviews of Quinny Buzz

Buy Now from Amazon


Funky Giraffe Bibs

  Ease of Use: 5 out of 5
  Value for Money: 5 out of 5
  Quality: 5 out of 5
  Overall score: 5 out of 5
 
"fab designs"

These bibs are great for dribbly babies. Functional yet they look great. I opted for chevrons and stars, they look really funky.

(5 out of 5)  mum to two girls - posted on 18th March 2015.

Read All Reviews of Funky Giraffe Bibs

http://funkygiraffebibs.co.uk


TotsBots

  Ease of Use: 5 out of 5
  Value for Money: 4 out of 5
  Quality: 4 out of 5
  Overall score: 4 out of 5
 
"Easy to use"

I have been using cloth nappies for 3 years on 2 children and have used several kinds. I love tots bots simply for the ease of use, they are all in one so everything is together so no confusion over what goes with what, they go on just like a disposable so great for when others are babysitting.

I love that they come in lots of lovely prints so they look really cute when on.

They dry really quickly making them suitable for anyone, no need for a tumble dryer.

Only drawback is the absorbancy isn't fantastic so I sometimes add a booster.

All in all a really excellent nappy that's super easy to use.

(4 out of 5)  mum to two girls - posted on 14th March 2015.

Read All Reviews of TotsBots


Palmer's Body Butter

  Ease of Use: 5 out of 5
  Value for Money: 5 out of 5
  Quality: 5 out of 5
  Overall score: 5 out of 5
 
"affordable product that works."

I love this stuff. It is really moisturizing for stretched pregnant bellies and post partum wobbly Tums. It smells great, slightly chocolatey.
I used it during my pregnancies and didn't get a single stretch mark, could be down to genes but I think this also helped.
I would recommend this product.

(5 out of 5)  mum to two girls - posted on 13th March 2015.

Read All Reviews of Palmer's Body Butter

Buy Now From Boots


Close Baby Carrier

  Ease of Use: 4 out of 5
  Value for Money: 4 out of 5
  Quality: 5 out of 5
  Overall score: 4 out of 5
 
"Lovely soft carrier."

I'd put this on my list of new baby essentials. It's a lovely carrier for when baby is little, easy to use after a little practice and comfortable and supportive.
The design is ergonomical so baby is well supported and it doesn't put strain on your back. It's a great carrier for dads as well as it comes in neutral colours.
The only negative for me is that being petite and slim, I have to tighten to the extent that the rings are under my baby's legs which I sometimes worry isn't comfortable but she has never complained.

(4 out of 5)  mum to two girls - posted on 13th March 2015.

Read All Reviews of Close Baby Carrier

Buy Now from Amazon


The Tiger Who Came To Tea

  Ease of Use: 5 out of 5
  Value for Money: 5 out of 5
  Quality: 5 out of 5
  Overall score: 5 out of 5
 
"A firm favoirite"

This is one of the books my daughter always reaches for at bedtime. A lovely simple story that she can pretty much recite with me.
it's a classic that I remember from my own childhood so it's wonderful to share it with her.

(5 out of 5)  mum to two girls - posted on 13th March 2015.

Read All Reviews of The Tiger Who Came To Tea

Buy From Woolworths.co.uk


Start Reviewing Product Here


Share your review...

Add Your Own Review |  Suggest a Product |  Product Testing Homepage |  back to Helen