Latest Reviews
Product Testing Product Reviews Home

Hayley's Product Reviews

Glow n Go Instant Tan Matte

  Ease of Use: 5 out of 5
  Value for Money: 5 out of 5
  Quality: 5 out of 5
  Overall score: 5 out of 5
 
"Fantastic stuff at a bargain price"


My skin I guess you could describe as medium (dark hair with blue eyes). I tend to keep some tan colour to my skin all year round and don't burn particularly easily, although I always wear skin protection in the sun.
First thing I noticed was the gorgeous smell - it's a cross between pineapple and coconut, very tropical.
So I followed the instructions and preped my skin (my only problem tanning area is my legs so I concentrated my trial on my legs) after taking a shower. Squeezed a blob on my hand and become extremely nervous after seeing the dark brown colour of the cream thinking that I was going to end up with dirty looking legs with an unnatural dark tan. I needn't have worried, after rubbing in well (keep rubbing to remove all streaks, it rubs in pretty easily - make sure you wash your hands straight away and don't get dressed until it's dry, as per instructions) all over my legs I was pleasantly surprised to see that my legs still looked very natural, not particularly tanned but with some colour - the colour then continued to show over the next couple of hours ending with a lovely natural looking tan with a healthy glow and lasted until my next shower, I can't be certain because I have been out in the sun but I think that perhaps my legs did retain some of the fake tan colour after showering, but I didn't have a problem with that and just applied more to keep the colour fresh.
My sister is blonde and finds is difficult to tan so I thought i'd recommend this to her as, more often or not, she uses all-over fake tans which don't suit her skin and turn out quite orange and streaky, often ending up dirty looking so then it's back to the drawing board and she has to try something else, usually having to spend a good few ££s. She said my legs looked very naturally tanned and she was stunned that after I stepped into the family paddling pool that I didn't have streaks when I got back out. So she too has gone off and bought this product to try and i'm pretty certain it will be just as good for her.
Best bit for me - I found this product at a well-known 'Bargains' store which sells lots of Home items for just 99p, at this price i'm prepared to buy it whenever I need and continue use. As someone who doesn't normally use fake tan because of some very bad experiences, and because i'm a cheap-skate and will not spend silly money on personal products, I am definitely converted. I recently picked up the Shimmer version, again for 99p, so looking forward to giving that a try too. There was also a Fake Bake version for the same price which was a clear cream that gradually adds colour while out in the sun so may also give that a go in the future too.
At this price this tanning product is definitely worth a go and i'm pretty certain that the majority will not be disappointed. Best product test i've had for personal use in a long time and a brilliant find! Thank you!!


(5 out of 5)  30 something Mum to 4yr old Son - posted on 7th July 2011.

Read All Reviews of Glow n Go Instant Tan Matte

'The lightly fragranced Glow n Go Instant Tan Matte creates a flawless golden glow and washes off easily to leave skin silky smooth. It is suitable for all skin types. Perfect for a tan boost!

Look at BronzeAmbition.com


Zingzillas Play n Groove

  Ease of Use: 5 out of 5
  Value for Money: 3 out of 5
  Quality: 4 out of 5
  Overall score: 4 out of 5
 
"Entertaining but with limited features"

My first impression was that the toy wasn't as big as it appeared in the advert pictures, but it still looked really nice and fun. Then of course was the task of actually removing the toy from the box, which all parents will know these days is a job in itself.

It is a fun toy which encourages the child to join in with the dancing (and the songs) but as it only plays 2 different songs my Son doesn't play with it for long periods of time and just now and again. The maraca is supposed to change which song is played by placing in/out of the toy's hand, however from our experience it doesn't make a difference and the toy plays both songs. Also I find the mechanical clicking noise it makes a little noisy. The biggest annoyance for me... no on/off switch, personally I like any musical/noise toy to have one of these, and again i'm sure most parents will know what I am talking about.

Overall a nice colourful interactive toy which I think most children would enjoy (I would say from around 18mths old with supervision), particularly if they the are Zingzillas fans, but i'm not sure i'd pay the RRP because of the limited functions. Saying that it is a well made toy and seems of good quality.

(4 out of 5)  Mum to 3yr old son - posted on 28th October 2010.

Read All Reviews of Zingzillas Play n Groove

Buy from Amazon


No Scent Childrens Sun Lotion by Green People

  Ease of Use: 4 out of 5
  Value for Money: 3 out of 5
  Quality: 4 out of 5
  Overall score: 4 out of 5
 
"Nice to apply, not so good for very sunny days"

This cream is easy to apply, a little goes a long way, it isn't scented (as described) or coloured, and isn't too greesy either. Plus the tube is a generous size, might be a little bulky for popping in your handbag.

My son is quite fair skinned so I usually use a minimum factor 30. This cream worked well on slightly cloudy days when the sun wasn't so strong, but on very bright hot sunny day's I would have to revert to our usual factor 30 kids cream, particularly on his face, as I noticed that he was starting to catch the sun with this cream even after 2 applications and he was wearing a hat. Wearing shorts and t-shirt it did a good job of protecting his body, but if he were only wearing a swimsuit I would use my SPF 30 instead.

I would personally recommend this for regular daily use in the summer months as protection for the children, even on days which arent very sunny as the sun can still be damaging. But, especially for fairer children, I wouldn't suggest using this cream and use a higher SPF instead to avoid them catching the sun.

I can't say that I would be confident that this cream is suitable for use when children are playing in water, and would re-apply regularly in this instance, as it doesn't appear as thick and the water-resistant creams.

(4 out of 5)  Mum to 3yr old son - posted on 13th June 2010.

Read All Reviews of No Scent Childrens Sun Lotion by Green People

Buy Now from Amazon


Silk

  Ease of Use: 5 out of 5
  Value for Money: 5 out of 5
  Quality: 5 out of 5
  Overall score: 5 out of 5
 
"I want more!"

So I will definitely be looking out for further titles from this author!!

A gripping read which encouraged me to keep turning the pages and find out what was going to happen next. Brilliantly written based on three women's separate lives. I enjoyed getting to know each character and following their path through the story.

Very 'now' and modern-day writing, I loved it from beginning to end.

I would encourage anyone to give this book a go.

(5 out of 5)  Mum to (nearly) 3yr old son - posted on 28th April 2010.

Read All Reviews of Silk

BUY Silk from Amazon


How To Be Married

  Ease of Use: 5 out of 5
  Value for Money: 5 out of 5
  Quality: 5 out of 5
  Overall score: 5 out of 5
 
"Loved it!!"


Ok I don't want to give away too much about this book and spoil what its all about - you really will have to get it yourself and have a read ;) BUT I think my title says it all!!

I have a few favourite authors who I rarely stray from including the likes of Marianne Keys, Carole Matthews & Cecilia Ahern, but I get through a book approx. every 2wks so i'm always on the look out for other authors to try. I am so glad I was sent this book to product test and I will certainly be keeping my eyes peeled for other books from this author.

Very easy book to read and right up my street chick-flit, I read in bed and seriously had trouble putting it down to go to sleep. The story line is fiction that could so easily relate to so many women who are married or in a long-term relationship.

Its funny, heart warming and gripping. A great book to settle down with and relax your mind.

So, short and sweet but the best review I can give this book is to recommend it to anyone who enjoys a good girlie read. It comes highly recommended from me!


(5 out of 5)  Mum to (nearly) 3yr old son - posted on 12th April 2010.

Read All Reviews of How To Be Married


Nappy Cream Baby Balm by Green People

  Ease of Use: 5 out of 5
  Value for Money: 4 out of 5
  Quality: 5 out of 5
  Overall score: 5 out of 5
 
"Effective barrier"

I'm writing my review from a different angle - after posting in TBW forums about how my son was getting a sore looking botty since moving into cotton pants (recently potty trained) I was kindly sent a tub of this cream to try out and see if it helped at all.

I could only use it at night while my son was wearing pull-up pants as it doesn't rub into the skin - something I personally like from a nappy cream as it acts as a good barrier.

Found it easy to apply, not really greasy like some other well-known creams which made it easy to wash off my hands, but it left a long-lasting barrier on the skin.
The pot is a really handy shape and size for carrying in a nappy bag etc and the lid secures tightly.

My sons problem appeared to be a little irritation from wearing cotton pants which obviously his skin wasn't used to, it wasn't so much nappy rash but a red patch which looked as though it could become sore. I feel using this cream every night really helped.
The problem has now cleared up, but if it were to flare up again I wouldn't hesitate using this cream to help soothe it.


(5 out of 5)  Mum to (nearly) 3yr old son - posted on 12th April 2010.

Read All Reviews of Nappy Cream Baby Balm by Green People

Buy Now from Amazon


Urine Eliminator by RugDoctor

  Ease of Use: 5 out of 5
  Value for Money: 4 out of 5
  Quality: 5 out of 5
  Overall score: 5 out of 5
 
"Worth having to hand"


Very easy to use and does the job!

My son has recently potty trained so this product test came around at just the right time. The biggest task we put it to was when my son didn't manage to get to the toilet in time and had a No1 & 2 accident on my upstairs carpet which is light coloured. Used this spray and it did the job brilliantly removing any odour and the stain which was left.

I have a new task for this spray - the car seat! A little accident has occurred while in the car and i'm too wary of removing the cover and put it in the washing machine, so this seems like a great alternative. I will try the spray on an inconspicuous area first to check for colour-fastness etc and if that's ok will be using it to clean away the odour. Hope it does the job just as well.

Something well worth having among your cleaning items when young children are about the house. Would definitely consider buying some more.


(5 out of 5)  Mum to (nearly) 3yr old son - posted on 12th April 2010.

Read All Reviews of Urine Eliminator by RugDoctor

Take a Look at RugDoctor.co.uk Here


Baby Bjorn Smart Potty

  Ease of Use: 5 out of 5
  Value for Money: 3 out of 5
  Quality: 5 out of 5
  Overall score: 4 out of 5
 
"Aided potty training"

I'm posting this in addition to my review below, as my son has recently started potty training (after i'd posted my review). Just a few quick words really to say that the potty has really helped. We have laminate flooring and the potty hasnt slipped from under him once, he's found it easy/comfortable to sit on, and the extra-high lip at the front has ensured that nothing escapes onto the floor. I've found the removable insert brilliant for ease of emptying/cleaning, and the quality of the potty is so good that I think it would last a good few children (if you are planning a large family or want to pass it down to friends/family). A little expensive from my point of view, thats why i'm giving it a medium-rating for value for money, but one that I would definitely recommend! Just a little tip - my son (who is 3 in 3mths) was very reluctant to potty train. We found the use of Thomas stickers a great way to get him interested. Every time he used the potty he got a Thomas sticker to stick on it, and he now loves his lovely Thomas themed potty :)

(4 out of 5)  Mum to 2yr old son - posted on 12th February 2010.

Read All Reviews of Baby Bjorn Smart Potty

Buy Now from Amazon


Rescue Balm

  Ease of Use: 3 out of 5
  Value for Money: 3 out of 5
  Quality: 3 out of 5
  Overall score: 3 out of 5
 
"Undecided"

At first glance I thought this pot wouldnt last very long as its so small, but perfect size for popping in your hand-bag. But as its a waxy substance I think it would last a lot longer then it would seem. I found that I had to rub my finger into the balm a lot or a few times to get a decent layer on my lips. There wasnt really any smell or taste which in my opinion is fine, but because I couldnt really notice it on my lips a short time after application I cant honestly say I noticed how long it lasted. I think that it has helped to hydrate my dry lips in this cold weather - I tend to only apply these products when needed. The price is a lot more than I would wish to pay for such a product and if i'm honest I have other lip-balms with a texture that I prefer, I can feel them on my lips and I can also judge how much i'm putting on. I would use this product again if I were to see it at a cheaper price or on offer, but at full price I wouldnt buy it.

(3 out of 5)  Mum to 2yr old son - posted on 12th February 2010.

Read All Reviews of Rescue Balm

Visit www.Nelsons.net


Baby Bjorn Smart Potty

  Ease of Use: 5 out of 5
  Value for Money: 3 out of 5
  Quality: 5 out of 5
  Overall score: 4 out of 5
 
"Lovely potty, unfortunately didn't encourage my son"

This potty didnt look too different to other basic potty's that I have seen on the market. We had a white one which isnt the most exciting colour to children. But I like the fact that its made out of a durable material that can take some throwing around without being damaged, and the removable part for emptying is a great idea although my son did work out very quickly that it comes apart. The grip is also very good to help prevent it sliding around on wooden floors, tiles etc.

Unfortunately my son is very reluctant to potty train and I had hoped this new potty being delivered would give him some interest. Instead he took an instant dislike (which I dont think was the potty's fault) and has refused to use it since apart from sitting on it a few times but not actually using it. I think perhaps he needs a potty which will provide more encouragement/fun but obviously these types will cost more money.

Overall I would say that this is a perfect potty for basic potty training (children who arent so adverse to using a potty) and I think it would be great for travelling/holidays. But for some children, like my son, it may not provide the encouragement they need being a fairly basic potty.

(4 out of 5)  Mum to 2yr old son - posted on 20th January 2010.

Read All Reviews of Baby Bjorn Smart Potty

Buy Now from Amazon


MAGIX Video Easy

  Ease of Use: 4 out of 5
  Value for Money: 4 out of 5
  Quality: 4 out of 5
  Overall score: 4 out of 5
 
"Good for basic editing and movie creation"

My initial reason for wanting to test this product was to create some nice edited movies (perhaps even burn some to DVD for family members) dating back from when we first got our Digital Camera when Jayden was born. Unfortunately the camera didnt come with a cable to connect it to PC/Laptop and i'm having trouble finding out what I need. So for the time being and for the purpose of the product test I uploaded some footage from my mobile phone.

Installing the software was easy, you just inserted the CD and followed the instructions, but did take a little while. However once installed on your PC you do not need to insert the CD every time you want to use the software.
A guide then takes you through the basic functions of the software in a spoken and animated tutorial (which you can access again at any time).
Uploading couldn't have been easier, you just selected where you wanted to upload your media from and away to go. I uploaded 4 videos from my phone into one session so I could bring them together. I very quickly hit my first problem, I cannot for the life of me work out how to rotate 2 of the videos which, at the moment, are sideways. There is an option to do this but for some reason it wont work. I spent ages trying to work it out even using (and posting on) the help section but still to no avail. So I hope to get an answer on how to fix this soon for future use. From then on it was pretty plain sailing - I used the tools to help fix the appearance of my videos (being a mobile phone the quality wasnt that good and I couldnt do much to make them better), put them in order and easily snipped the parts of the videos that I wanted to use. I then added some transition effects in between each, some titles/headings and background music. All of which was quite straight forward.

I then decided to upload my video to the on-line album and then hopefully to the website that they provide for you. Unfortunately that does not seem so straight forward and I am going to have to spend some more time on the 'help' function working out how I can do this so that I can share my videos with friends and family on-line. I think of myself as fairly technically minded so for anyone who isnt or doesnt have much experience then I can see this being very complicated. However I am determined to work it out.

Overall I can see why it is called Video Easy as the editing package itself is definitely designed for 'beginners' as I found it quite basic and didn't have quite as many effects/tools as I would have expected. Perhaps when I play with it to create further videos i'll find a few more things which I have missed although nothing further was explained in the user guide.

Once I have managed to get hold of a cable to connect my Digital Camera to my laptop I will definitely use this package again, no doubt to create DVDs as gifts for family members - my aim right now is to create one for the grandparents for Christmas.

I would say that if you are looking for a video editing/creating package which is basic and easy to use then this is definitely one to consider. Although be sure that you have the accessories to connect your camera/phone to your laptop or PC before buying. You may, like me, come across some difficulties with using some of the tools for which I am hoping that the Help community will be able to help me out - you are provided with a free on-line account to this community - but I would think that everyone would manage to create some nice movies using this package which can be kept forever and shared with others. I haven't yet tried burning to DVD but again that also seems very straight forward.

Thank you to Magix and The Baby Website for the opportunity to product test this item. We will definitely find it useful in the future :)

Hayley & Jayden x

(4 out of 5)  Mum to 2yr old Jayden - posted on 21st October 2009.

Read All Reviews of MAGIX Video Easy

Look At MAGIX Video Easy


Dealing With Difficult Eaters

  Ease of Use: 5 out of 5
  Value for Money: 4 out of 5
  Quality: 5 out of 5
  Overall score: 5 out of 5
 
"This book under-sells itself by the title..."

because if I saw it on a shelf and read the title I would assume its only designed for parents of children who have eating issues (plus would think it was for older children because of the picture). How very wrong I would be!!!! This book should also be aimed at parents with young babies at pre-weaning stage because it offers a lot of insightful advice and things to consider before you even start feeding your child.

It was an enjoyable read and easy to follow. I now realise that my 2yr old is the same as any other, his occasional tantrums at meal-time are a normal reaction for a child of his age, and his pickyness toward most foods (unless they are junk or low in nutrition) and new foods are again a normal reaction from a 2yr old. At meal-times I find myself considering my reactions beforehand and I think far more calm and relaxed. OK no book will ever stop the annoyance I sometimes feel at having a lovingly cooked meal thrown at me with total refusal to eat, and of course sometimes my anger/frustration will show. But this book has helped me to understand the reasoning behind why my son sometimes acts as he does toward food and how is best to react in those situations.

I would recommend this book to anyone with a baby up to junior school age children. A lot can be learned and it can help you to recognise whether there really is a problem (in which case sometimes further help needs to be sought) or whether your child is progressing through the normal phases of their life. The research documented offers understanding and reasoning. It would also be helpful to pass on to anyone else who looks after your child and is experiencing problems or feeling frustrated by their eating habits - i'm sure they will be surprised by some of the information.

Definitely a helpful and interesting read for any parent!

Thank you for the opportunity to product test this item!
Hayley & Jayden x


(5 out of 5)  Mum to 2yr old Jayden - posted on 21st October 2009.

Read All Reviews of Dealing With Difficult Eaters

Buy Here from Amazon


Ten Little Fingers and Ten Little Toes - Walker Books

  Ease of Use: 5 out of 5
  Value for Money: 3 out of 5
  Quality: 3 out of 5
  Overall score: 4 out of 5
 
"Not a book I would usually pick up"

I have to say if I were at a bookshop or buying on-line this is not a book I would select to buy for my son. The reason being he usually enjoys books which have more activity in them (i.e. touch and feel, flaps to open etc.) or with his favourite characters.

However when I showed him this book he was all smiles and came to sit on my lap to read it. He enjoyed looking at every page, listening to the story, counting the fingers and toes with his fingers and pointing at other objects. He sat contently from beginning to end which if I'm honest surprised me as I wasn't sure it would hold his attention.

From my point of view I thought the illustrations were lovely, but perhaps not eye catching enough for a 2yr old to appreciate, and also thought that the story itself maybe a bit boring too. But Jayden really seems to like this book and its tought me to to under-estimate what type book he could enjoy and learn from.

I would be reluctant to allow him to have his own access to this book as I think he would damage it easily and no doubt rip the pages or at least bend them.

Overall a nice basic book which could help develop counting skills, while encouraging parent/child time. It makes a nice soothing story for bed/nap times as there isn't too much activity and it can be read in a relaxing manner.

I'm not sure i'd consider paying the RRP of £6.99.

Id say one worth trying, you may be surprised! :)

(4 out of 5)  mum to 2yr old son Jayden - posted on 18th August 2009.

Read All Reviews of Ten Little Fingers and Ten Little Toes - Walker Books

> www.walker.co.uk


AloeDent Childrens Toothpaste

  Ease of Use: 5 out of 5
  Value for Money: 4 out of 5
  Quality: 5 out of 5
  Overall score: 5 out of 5
 
"We LOVE it!!"


Yummmmm, thats the best way I can describe this toothpaste. The smell is amazing and the taste is just as good, so much so I always ask my son for a kiss after he has brushed his teeth, he tastes so yummy hehe.

When this product arrived I was pleasantly surprised by the size of the tube, its really big and will last ages.

Jayden really loves brushing his teeth with this product, i'm guessing he too loves the taste by the 'mmmm' noises he makes. As its a gel a little goes a very long way and its not messy to use.

As for his teeth, it seems to be doing just as good a job as any well-known brand designed for kids that i've bought in the past. His breath always smells good and I am happy its doing a good job.

The packaging is lovely. Not quite sure how well it is aimed at children, but it does give you an idea of how nice the product is.

I dont think there are many childen (or adults) who wouldnt like this product, the taste/smell makes brushing teeth fun and I should imagine a tube would last a good few weeks, we've not gone through much of ours yet.

Definately one worth trying, perhaps if you fancy spoiling your little one with something new! x

(5 out of 5)  Mum to Jayden - nearly 2yrs old - posted on 22nd April 2009.

Read All Reviews of AloeDent Childrens Toothpaste

Try our natural toothpaste. Suitable for as soon as your little one develops teeth.

Buy from Amazon


Moxie Feminine Hygiene

  Ease of Use: 5 out of 5
  Value for Money: 4 out of 5
  Quality: 5 out of 5
  Overall score: 5 out of 5
 
"Feminine products made cool!!"

I was so pleased to get to try these products out, instead of the usual stores own brand tampons & panty liners which I would normally buy.

My first impression was how gorgeous, descrete and useable the packaging is. My favourite is the little tin that he tampons came in, perfect for popping in your handbag and if you dropped it by mistake no one would be any the wiser (unless they have used them themselves), its the perfect size too. I really love the design, the pink & black is so chic and feminine.

The products themselves have been great to use. During the first few days of my period I tried out the Super Tampons, this was new for me as I would normally use Regular. However these were great, were very comfortable to use and wear, and I found I needed to change them a little less often.
After the first few days and my flow became lighter I tried out the sanitary pads, these too were really good, the wings helped keep them in place even after a 1hr Karate training session so that was brilliant, and they are so thin and comfortable you forget they are there. Absorbancy on both products was great.
On the days following my period I gave the panty liners a go and they too were very comfortable to wear and id the job well.

I find it a shame that this product isnt stocked in all the main supermarkets. If they were available in my weekly shop i'd definately consider buying them instead of my usual stores-own brand. Unfortunately I rarely visit a Superdrug store (which I understand is the main stockist), however if I do in the future and I need to stock up on this type of product, i'll definately pop and buy some.

Overall I was really pleased and couldnt find any fault with the products, each did their job perfectly and were great to use. Because of this and how lovely and practical (and re-useable) the packaging is i'd recommend anyone give them a go.
x

(5 out of 5)  Mum to Jayden - nearly 2yrs old - posted on 22nd April 2009.

Read All Reviews of Moxie Feminine Hygiene


FunkyFeet Fashions

  Ease of Use: 5 out of 5
  Value for Money: 4 out of 5
  Quality: 5 out of 5
  Overall score: 5 out of 5
 
"So lovely!!"

We were thrilled to get chosen to product test this gorgeous item.
It took a while to choose from the beautiful designs available on the website, and eventually we decided on the Puppy Slippers.
When they arrived the first thing I noticed, apart from how cute they were, was how soft and comfortable the liner material felt, perfect for delicate little feet.

Jayden is a very tall boy for his age and is currently in size 6 shoes, but this wasnt a problem as there was such a wide range of sizes on the website. His feet are also very wide so some shoes/slippers will not go on his feet, however because of the elasticated design these go on easily, but hug his feet so that its not so easy for him to pull them off.

These slippers are beautifully made, and would make footwear fun for any child. He looks so cute padding around in the soft soles, perfect for chilly days around the house. These would make a beautiful gift for any little girl or boy, something different while still being very practical.

Thank you to Funky Feet Fashions and TBW for allowing us the opportunity to product test this item, we are more than pleased!
Hayley & Jayden xx

(5 out of 5)  Mother to Jayden - 19mths old - posted on 7th December 2008.

Read All Reviews of FunkyFeet Fashions

FunkyFeetFashions


DK Books - Dorling Kindersley

  Ease of Use: 5 out of 5
  Value for Money: 5 out of 5
  Quality: 5 out of 5
  Overall score: 5 out of 5
 
"Baby Touch & Feel - Colours & Shapes"

It was lovely to be chosen to review this book, as my son is at the age where he is learning lots of new things, and we are trying to encourage him with anything that is educational but fun.

My first impression of the book was that it was a very simple but effective design, plain coloured backgrounds so that the words and pictures stood out. I really liked the padded feel to the hard covers making it just that little bit more interesting.

When I passed the book to Jayden he instantly sat down and started flicking through the pages. I noticed that the book is the perfect size for his little hands to deal with, and the hard pages make them easy for him to turn. The pictures are very clear, colourful, and stand out well. We have sat together and read the book, I read the words and move Jayden's finger over the 'feel' parts of the picture, which he always enjoys. This is definately a fun way for him to learn new things, while feeding his interest in books.

There are only two very small negative comments I would make about this book. I feel that some of the pictures dont have a very noticeable feel to them, but on saying that little fingers are probably more sensitive and pick up small sensations better than adult hands. And although Jayden is passed the chewing stage, there are still bite marks on the book, so I wouldnt really recommend it to a younger baby which puts everything in its mouth as the book would get ruined. I think Jayden has only bitten the outside of the book because of the squishy appeal, but at this age I dont think he would actually chew/suck the pages so the book should stay in-tact for a long time of enjoyment.

Overall this is a beautifully designed book, with a older baby/toddler audience in mind, and is great for learning either while sitting and reading with an adult or browsing through on their own looking at and feeling the pictures. Jayden really seems to enjoy it!

Thank you to DK Books & TBW for allowing us the chance to test this product. We have had lots of fun with it and it is a welcome addition to Jayden's book collection x

(5 out of 5)  Mother to Jayden - 19mths old - posted on 7th December 2008.

Read All Reviews of DK Books - Dorling Kindersley

DK.com


Carla Daly Childrens Art

  Ease of Use: 5 out of 5
  Value for Money: 4 out of 5
  Quality: 4 out of 5
  Overall score: 4 out of 5
 
"Unique and colourful - fabulous!"

We received two prints to product test - Zebra and Girraffe design.

When I opened the packaging I had a lovely suprise. Firstly because they are such a good size, and secondly because the pictures are just wonderful, so different. They are quite comical and because they are animated they dont only suit a nursery but will look great for years to come in an older childs bedroom. They compliment my son's bedroom perfectly. Everything is Jungle theme, he has soft jungle animals everywhere with jungle print bedding and accessories. These add something interesting on his pastel painted walls and go really well with the colour scheme.
At the moment I have them in simple glass clip-frames. But I plan to buy coloured frames which will compliment the pictures. Im sure I wont have to spend a lot of money to get something I like, and that will make these gorgeous pictures stand out even more.

I will definately consider purchasing further items from this range for my son's bedroom, perhaps something personalised, for birthday's and Xmas. Possibly also for friends children if I thought they would look good in their bedrooms.
Perhaps one suggestion would be to expand the range into other themes which would suit many other child's bedrooms. Im certain they would be just as big a hit as these lovely animal designs.

Thank you to Carla Daly & TBW for giving us the opportunity to try these out. They have been a fabulous product test item, something we can enjoy for years. And after that they will be a nice momento to keep from our son's younger years! :)

(4 out of 5)  Mum to Jayden - 13mths old - posted on 20th June 2008.

Read All Reviews of Carla Daly Childrens Art

Carladaly.co.uk


MamaBabyBliss

  Ease of Use: 5 out of 5
  Value for Money: 3 out of 5
  Quality: 5 out of 5
  Overall score: 4 out of 5
 
"Lovely pamper items"

I would have loved to have had these products after the birth of my son. They would have made the perfect relax and unwind items for a little 'me' time.

The Bath Soak is my favourite. Its gorgeously thick and creamy and smells beautiful as you pour it into the hot running water. It made a nice amount of relaxing bubbles to soak in. I didnt notice a scent while I was in the bath, but after I got out I noticed my skin had a lovely subtle smell.
The only thing I would improve about this product is that id like it to release a nice relaxing aroma while I am in the bath. It does perhaps already have one, but I have a large bathroom so perhaps it was lost in there.
I am not sure if this item is availble in larger bottles, if I were buying now that I have tested I think I would buy a larger bottle as I would use this product regularly.

The Post-natal Oil was lovely to use. I found it rubbed into my skin easily and didnt leave me feeling greesy afterwards. Also didnt have to leave it dry for long before getting dressed. I did have to wash my hands after use, but I think you would expect that with any oil. It had a lovely scent, not too over powering, while I was using it. I have some quite severe stretch marks from my pregnancy and previous weight loss. I cant say i've seen any lasting results, however after use im sure that my most recent marks seemed less red looking.

I havent been able to use the balm for its main purpose (for dry nipples) as I stopped breast-feeding early on. However I have tried it on my lips when they have been dry through the winter months, for which it seemed to do a good job and didnt seem too greesy. Perhaps MammaBabyBliss could consider adding a lip-balm to their range using similar ingredients, but that would last longer on lips and perhaps have a nice flavour? I have also used it when my nuckles have become dry, instead of using a greesy cream all over my hands, and it seems to have helped in that way too.

The face-mask is the perfect accompaniment to any relaxing bath. It helps you to shut out the mayhem of everyday life, and would be perfect used while listening to some soothing music and some nice scents. Its also very pretty and feminine.

Overall the items came in lovely pink/purple packaging. The glass bottles are classy, and look lovely displayed. And the hessian bag is a lovely touch, if you were giving this item as a gift then this makes the perfect finishing touch. I would recommend anyone to give this product a try, or consider buying it as a gift for any new mum or mum-to-be. It would make a lovely gift.

Thank you to MammaBabyBliss for allowing me to try this product, and to TheBabyWebsite. I have very much enjoyed the experience!

(4 out of 5)  Mum to Jayden - nearly 1yr old - posted on 15th April 2008.

Read All Reviews of MamaBabyBliss

MamaBabyBliss


Aldi Mamia Nappies

  Ease of Use: 5 out of 5
  Value for Money: 5 out of 5
  Quality: 4 out of 5
  Overall score: 4 out of 5
 
"Better than expected!!"

I was sent a pack of size 4 (Maxi) nappies to test out. Unfortunately my husband opened the pack without using the proper tear part before I could even get a look.

First impression - I was suprised to see how roomy these nappies apeared to be, and how soft they felt inside and out. Had I not known what brand they were, I probably wouldnt have known the difference between a more expensive brand and these. They fitted my son (who's a big lad) very well and the velcro tabs were very grippy. They seemed to be comfortable on him.

During the day I found these nappies great, they dealt with everything my son threw at them (and as he's on solids that everything can be quite a lot). They seemed to absorb well and nothing found its way out of the nappy. However in the nights they werent good for us. My son sleeps right through, he's in his nappy usually from 8pm until at least 8.30am the next day, sometimes a little longer depending how long he sleeps for. Unfortunately by the time I got to change him the wet had started to soak through the nappy and onto his grow/vest, and I noticed that it had also come above the waist band making his PJs wet too. We tried them for 3 nights, and on the first night not only did he completely soak his nappy but also had a poo which (im assuming because the nappy was so already full with urine) had started to come out of the sides a little.

I would definately try these nappies out again during the day, if compared to other offers they were still competatively priced, I shall have to do my homework on that one. However as my son sleep for such long periods I would stick to my current brand for night-time use. I should point out that I currently use two different (well known more expensive) brands for night and day. One brand im not so keen on but it keeps him very dry through the night, and the other brand I much prefer but they dont keep him dry at night so he has them during the day. I guess that just goes to show that different nappies work best for different babies, you dont know until you give them a try, and I would definately recommend anyone to give these nappies a go!

(4 out of 5)  Mum to Jayden - nearly 10mths old - posted on 21st February 2008.

Read All Reviews of Aldi Mamia Nappies


www.aldi.co.uk


Annabel Karmel New Complete Baby and Toddler Meal Planner

  Ease of Use: 5 out of 5
  Value for Money: 5 out of 5
  Quality: 5 out of 5
  Overall score: 5 out of 5
 
"Couldnt have done without it"

I'm so glad I have this book. My son started weaning at 6mths old and i've used it to help me plan his meals from day 1. At first I needed help with what purees to try him with, and from there I made up batches of meals using the guidelines. Since we've moved on to thicker/lumpier foods and things to chew, this book has helped me so much each step of the way. I still use it now to make up batches of his meals, and so far I havent even needed to make the same recipie twice. My son has enjoyed every single one and i've had the peace of mind knowing that he's enjoying healthy home-made food with the right ingredients for his age.

The book also includes 'meal planners' which help you plot out when to give/introduce each meal and make up your meals in advance. I didnt actually follow these planners, but I did find them helpful to look at. I find it great to know what meals are safe to freeze and reheat as each recipie shows whether this is suitable. Unfortunately I am someone who does not enjoy cooking and has no real flair, however this book made it so easy for me, the recipies were simple to follow and I actually found myself enjoy making up batches of meals. It was great to see the final product, watch my son enjoy what I had made for him, and have the convenience of meals being made ready in the freezer simply for re-heating. I am soon due to return to work after maternity leave, and I plan to continue making up batches of meals from this book. Then I can simply pop a frozen block into a lidded food tub and then my son's childminder can easily reheat it in the microwave for his lunch. It will be great to know what he's eating and that he's enjoying it.

I would recommend anyone starting or at the weaning process to buy this book. Even if you have more than one child and have done weaning all before, this just contains so many ideas to help you out. After making so many great meals from this book I also bought Annabel Karmel's Top 100 Baby Purees book, which is a similar concept and again I found a huge help. These books can easily be used along-side eachother for an even bigger range of idea's for your child's meals. And to make things even easier I bought Annabel Karmel's freezer tray's for baby food, they are flexible rubber with lids (which you can write on to record the item, date etc). I cant recommend the range highly enough, its fab!!

(5 out of 5)  Mum to Jayden - nearly 10mths old - posted on 21st February 2008.

Read All Reviews of Annabel Karmel New Complete Baby and Toddler Meal Planner

Read reviews, find information
and Buy Now from Amazon


Yes! SuperBaby

  Ease of Use: 5 out of 5
  Value for Money: 4 out of 5
  Quality: 5 out of 5
  Overall score: 4 out of 5
 
"Musical Scarf - very different and entertaining!"

This product has to get top marks for originality, its nothing like i've ever seen before. I really like the concept, if you need to get things done around the house or need to keep your child occupied while you are carrying them then this is a great idea.

Unfortunately because my son has always been a heavy boy I try not to carry him around for long periods, so I didnt really get to try the product out for that purpose. However when I gave it to him to play with and he instantly started shaking it around, obviously loving the jingly sounds, he seems to really like it and makes happy sqeals. He hasnt yet worked out that if he sqeezes the square it plays a tune but im sure he will find that eventually. The colours are really lovely and the fabric is very soft, perfect for little ones skin. Some babies may even like it as a comfort blanket.

I personally wouldnt buy it as just a toy, however for the purpose its designed for it is brilliant and I think many Mum's (Dads, Grandparents etc) could make great use of this, and that all babies would love it!

(4 out of 5)  Mum to Jayden - nearly 10mths old - posted on 21st February 2008.

Read All Reviews of Yes! SuperBaby


Dribblebuster

  Ease of Use: 5 out of 5
  Value for Money: 4 out of 5
  Quality: 5 out of 5
  Overall score: 4 out of 5
 
"So glad I bought one!"

I cant be negative about this product at all. My son has been wearing his for weeks now, and its certainly helped a lot toward saving his lovely outfits from the dreaded dribble. He's even worn it on warmer days and it hasnt been a problem. He suffers from a little Excema on his face and neck which has been brought on by the fact that he is dribbling, so obviously its great than he can wear something other than a bib to help absorb it.

To round up, if you have a dribbly baby, then this is definately something to consider. I am thinking of buying another for when one is in the wash, at the moment its a mad panic to get it dry ready for use again.

(4 out of 5)  Mother to Jayden - 4mths old - posted on 31st August 2007.

Read All Reviews of Dribblebuster

Dribblebuster Logo

www.dribblebuster.co.uk


NUK First Choice 300ml Bottles

  Ease of Use: 2 out of 5
  Value for Money: 2 out of 5
  Quality: 3 out of 5
  Overall score: 2 out of 5
 
"Quite disappointed - affected feeding"

On first inspection of the product I was quite impressed. The teat and colic valve system looked good along with the shape of the teat, and I liked the look of the bottle. I also liked the fact that it could hold upto 10oz which could come in very handy, however the bottle was much bigger than the wideneck store own brand of bottles which we have always used (they too have the anti-colic system, so were good as a comparason). I could see them taking up a lot of room in, for example, a change bag if you were going out for a few hours.

Cleaning them was quick and easy, much better than trying to scrub our contour shaped bottles. However they didnt fit well in my steriliser, having a narrow neck they wouldnt sit on the rings designed to keep them upright, but I dont know if that is a fault with the bottle or steriliser design, I guess that one or both of them is designed for its own brand of equipment.

Jayden took the bottle for his feed without any problem, I thought perhaps he would notice the different teat, but he didnt seem bothered by it. Unfortunatley from here its all downhill. Jayden drinks 8oz of milk, 4 times a day (no night bottles) and normally drinks the whole lot within 10-15mins without any fuss. When using this bottle for his teatime feed, it took over 30-35mins for him to finish the bottle and he seemed to get quite tired, his dad had to keep wiggling the bottle to encourage him to keep going and he kept commenting on how long it was taking Jayden to feed. Then for his bedtime bottle I noticed that he seemed to get bored with feeding and got very fidgity. After 30mins of feeding he was only half way through and he decided to give up and had completely lost interest. I couldnt persuade him to take any more at all, and knowing how well my son normally feeds this was very unlike him. Of course it could be co-incidence, but I think its very unlikely. The teat is Medium Flow (No1 designed for 0-6mths) as is the teat on his usual bottles, but these teats must have just been flowing far too slowly for him. I did find that the anti-colic system seemed to do its job, as there were plenty of bubbles flowing into the bottle.

He went to bed as usual at around 8.15pm, having taken much less milk than he is used to. It is now 8.50pm and we can hear that he is still awake, looking for his dummy, and quite unsettled. By now he is usually very quiet/asleep. I think that he is perhaps feeling a little hungry and may now need a bottle in a little while to satisfy him, again it could be co-incidence but this behaviour is very unlike him. We will now be reverting back to our original bottles.

Perhaps he would have got on better with a faster flowing teat, but im not certain of this as he has always got on fine with the other Medium flow teats. I will definately keep hold of the bottles, as I think they would probably work much better with juice (when he's old enough) and water in them as that would flow more easily. But as for feeds they havent proved of any use for us.

I would like to thank NUK & The Baby Website for giving us the opportunity to try out and review this product. I wish that my review could have been more positive, and hope that other testers got on better with it.

(2 out of 5)  Mother to Jayden - 12wks 3days old - posted on 25th July 2007.

Read All Reviews of NUK First Choice 300ml Bottles

Buy Now From Amazon


Clearly Herbal - Natural Baby Wipes

  Ease of Use: 4 out of 5
  Value for Money: 3 out of 5
  Quality: 5 out of 5
  Overall score: 4 out of 5
 
"Gorgeous smell!"

We recently finished the pack of wipes, and I have to say that the wipes I used next (my usual brand) smelt no-where near as nice. Jayden hasnt had any problems with any of the wipes I have used on him, however I did notice how soft these ones were so they must have felt nice on his skin.

If these were to be on-sale in supermarkets etc they would be easy to spot due to the bright green packaging. I found the packaging particularly good as it has the snap-shut plastic dispenser part which keeps the wipes moist, rather than the awful stick down covers which are useless. The one downside we found was that most of the time a new wipe didnt start to pop out ready to use with the one you about to use, so it made it a little difficuilt to dig out a wipe sometimes. Not very helpful when baby has done a number two and you need to get wipes out quickly with one hand.

I will keep an eye out for these in the shops, however I also hope that they will then be a little cheaper to buy, as they are quite expensive compared to other wipes you can buy and do as good a job (but perhaps dont smell quite as nice).

I would definately recommend to anyone to give them a go, they'd also be lovely to use for yourself as well as baby!

(4 out of 5)  Mother to Jayden - 12wks 3days old - posted on 25th July 2007.

Read All Reviews of Clearly Herbal - Natural Baby Wipes

Buy Now From Kiddicare


Start Reviewing Product Here


Share your review...

Add Your Own Review |  Suggest a Product |  Product Testing Homepage |  back to Hayley