View Latest Reviews
Product Testing Product Reviews Home Books For Toddlers back to Books For Toddlers

Books For Toddlers Product Reviews

We're Going On A Bear Hunt - Walker Books

Add Your Own Review Here

Overall score: 5 out of 5
We're Going On A Bear Hunt - Walker Books 
5 out of 5 based on 11 user review(s).


Share your review...
We're Going On A Bear Hunt - Walker Books

Member reviews:


  Ease of Use: 5 out of 5
  Value for Money: 5 out of 5
  Quality: 5 out of 5
  Overall score: 5 out of 5
 
"A must for any baby"

This book is a firm must for any baby's home library. The beautiful illustrations and repition through put the book makes it an excellent read for younger children as well as older children. My little boy loves this at story time before bed.

(5 out of 5)
Reviewed by Samantha - Mother to a little boy - posted on 15th March 2015.
Read More Reviews by Samantha


  Ease of Use: 5 out of 5
  Value for Money: 5 out of 5
  Quality: 5 out of 5
  Overall score: 5 out of 5
 
"Family Favourite"

This book is a family favourite which myself and My partner love to read to our children 6 months and 2 years. The older child is just waiting for the part where they discover the bear! Great illustration, good repititian for learning. Highly recommended.

(5 out of 5)
Reviewed by Paula - Mother of 2 - posted on 14th March 2015.
Read More Reviews by Paula


  Ease of Use: 5 out of 5
  Value for Money: 5 out of 5
  Quality: 5 out of 5
  Overall score: 5 out of 5
 
"lovely book"

I bought this for my 2 year old daughter, she loves reading the story with us. The repetition and the onomatopaeic words mean she has learnt the story and is now starting to recognise which letters make which words. The story is fun and a perfect length for a bedtime story. My 6 month old enjoys the flow of the words and looking at the pictures too. A firm family favourite.

(5 out of 5)
Reviewed by Sarah - mother of two - posted on 14th March 2015.
Read More Reviews by Sarah


  Ease of Use: 5 out of 5
  Value for Money: 5 out of 5
  Quality: 5 out of 5
  Overall score: 5 out of 5
 
"Wonderful book"

Beautiful illustrations, this book was recently brought for me to read to my son (three months old) the hardback book is ideal for my son to try and grip and hold so he can look at the beautifully drawn pictures especially as it's blends having black and white pages and full colour, this was such an easy read and in time I am sure he will be reading It with me I would recommend this book to everyone as the book is directed to a wide audience to enjoy, my son smiles each time I sit with him to read to him

(5 out of 5)
Reviewed by Lucy - Mother of a newborn - posted on 12th February 2015.
Read More Reviews by Lucy


  Ease of Use: 5 out of 5
  Value for Money: 5 out of 5
  Quality: 5 out of 5
  Overall score: 5 out of 5
 
"My favourite book ever"

I have worked with both children and teenagers I have even managed to shoehorn the bear hunt into a college lecture on presentation skills with adults. Even after 7 years with teenagers not one failed to smile or join in to the bear hunt. So as soon as my little boy was born i've been reading him the book at the moment it is a low key affair but as soon as he is old enough we will be enjoying the full bear hunt experience. This is an excellent book and can be played down for bedtime right throughout to making a full active play session. Every child should go on a bear hunt at least once ;)

(5 out of 5)
Reviewed by mark - First time mum - posted on 22nd August 2013.
Read More Reviews by mark


  Ease of Use: 5 out of 5
  Value for Money: 5 out of 5
  Quality: 5 out of 5
  Overall score: 5 out of 5
 
"Best book"

We love this book in our house, a firm favorite. We have the version with a DVD and my son loves us to read the book together but will also "read" the book himself with the DVD on.

A must for any childrens book collection.

(5 out of 5)
Reviewed by Samantha - Mother of 1 toddler, number 2 on the way - posted on 31st December 2010.
Read More Reviews by Samantha


  Ease of Use: 5 out of 5
  Value for Money: 5 out of 5
  Quality: 5 out of 5
  Overall score: 5 out of 5
 
"We love this book"

Rohan loves books, of all colours, shapes and sizes. He has his favourites, and this book is one of them. He received it last Christmas as a present, but it is only the last few months we have been looking at it, and it has become a firm favourite.
It is certainly a classic, my little brother and sister still adore it, and can quote lines from it now, even years on. I like the fact that it is repetitive, as this is key to developing languate and communication skills, and helping form vocabulary. Rohan quite often tries to repeat some of the phrases, and never seems to tire of reading it. I would say that he brings this book to me maybe four or five times a week, which is quite indicative of his like for it, as he has over 100 books!
I highly recommend this for the kids, but also for the adults too!

(5 out of 5)
Reviewed by Vickie - Mummy to Rohan - posted on 28th September 2009.
Read More Reviews by Vickie


  Ease of Use: 5 out of 5
  Value for Money: 5 out of 5
  Quality: 5 out of 5
  Overall score: 5 out of 5
 
"A must have book"

We bought this book for our son after he came home from nursery school quoting chunks of it to us. The repetition is great for pre readers to get the feeling that they are really reading a book as the same paragraph is repeated over and over again through what is now a classic children story.

Its author Michael Rosen is a former children laureate and his writing together with the beautiful pictures make it real joy for the whole family to read.

When I was a child it was a rhyme that was said around the camp fire so I am teaching my children the actions that I was taught when this book would have first been out, and I believe that it will still be a popular book in another twenty years time.

(5 out of 5)
Reviewed by Kay - Mother of three - posted on 26th September 2009.
Read More Reviews by Kay


  Ease of Use: 5 out of 5
  Value for Money: 5 out of 5
  Quality: 5 out of 5
  Overall score: 5 out of 5
 
"lovely book"

My daughter loved this books so much that she would not let me take it back to the libary. So we have now brought the book, DVD and game for her third birthday. She can now resite the book word for word and loves watching the DVD. This is a must have book for every home libary.

(5 out of 5)
Reviewed by rowena - Mum of 2 - posted on 25th September 2009.
Read More Reviews by rowena


  Ease of Use: 5 out of 5
  Value for Money: 5 out of 5
  Quality: 5 out of 5
  Overall score: 5 out of 5
 
"Fabby book"

I have several copies of this book in the class where I teach. I have bought it many times over the years I have been teaching and have yet to find a child who doesn't love this book. At the moment I teach in an Special Needs School, where the chidlren have moderate to profound learning difficulties. We use this book on a regular basis, including on a tape so the chidlren can listen to it themselves. The kids love the rhymes and will try to repeat the ryhmes while I read the story. Many of our children have language difficulties and by repeating the rhyme they are developing independence and communication skills. We also often try to copy the actions, which is a wonderful lesson for the children in our school as this helps them develop their confidence and very essential gross motor skills. It also makes a brilliant drama lesson
I love this book, and all the children I teach also love it. Many of the kids will repeat sections of the book for days after we have read it. I honestly cant praise this book enough.


(5 out of 5)
Reviewed by - Mummy to 7 month old and Special Needs Teacher - posted on 24th September 2009.
Read More Reviews by


  Ease of Use: 5 out of 5
  Value for Money: 5 out of 5
  Quality: 5 out of 5
  Overall score: 5 out of 5
 
"the best book ever for adults and children"

Working in a private day nursery for the last 12 years this book has always been a favourite for both children and staff, since iv become a mum its also a firm favourite in our house my 2 year old already reciting the well known verses from the book!
The story line is simple and repetative which is a fun way for the children to learn and enjoy the story also adding sound effects using thier voices/instruments etc!!!We have instruments to make all the different sounds such as the grass mud etc!!!
Ive been reading this book to my daughter since she was around a year old and she never gets bored her eyes getting bigger and bigger when we get nearer to the cave.
The dvd which also comes with some edditions of the book is as good as the book my daughter will watch it over and over again!
Would highly recommend this book to chidren of all ages.

(5 out of 5)
Reviewed by annah - mum of one little girl age 2 - posted on 24th September 2009.
Read More Reviews by annah


Add Your Own Review |  Suggest a Product |  Product Testing Homepage |  back to Books For Toddlers